Top Ten District Teacher of the Year Finalists Named

TOTY Finalists

Humble ISD has announced the Finalists for District Teacher of the Year. Ten finalists were selected from 45 campus Teachers of the Year.

The 10 Finalists for 2019-2020 District Teacher of the Year are:

Top Row 

Elm Grove Elementary – Anita McKeague, 4th Grade

Fall Creek Elementary – Allison Janes, Music

Maplebrook Elementary – Lisa Sonnier, Kindergarten

Oak Forest Elementary – Tiffany Curtis, 5th Grade

Whispering Pines Elementary – Francesca Rathke, 1st Grade  

Bottom Row

Career & Technology Ed. Center – Joe Paneitz, Robotics

Kingwood Park High – Kristen Lynam, Biology

Riverwood Middle – Michael Blayney, Health

Ross Sterling Middle – Sarah Hill, World Cultures

Timberwood Middle – Cinthia Ureta, RELA


Finalists were selected by a committee based upon essays. An Elementary and Secondary Teacher will be announced during the Humble ISD Education Foundation Gala on April 12. One of the two will also be announced as the Humble ISD 2019-2020 District Teacher of the Year. The complete list of Campus Teachers of the Year. More information is available here: 2019-20 Teacher of the Year Selection Process.