Humble ISD Hosts Annual Math Olympiad

 2018 Math Olympiad Winners

Math Olympiad is a math problem solving enrichment program that fosters mathematical creativity and ingenuity. Students participate in after school challenges and math contests with other students internationally. The school year culminates in a district-wide math tournament. This year the tournament was held at the Humble Civic Center on April 24.

Humble ISD Math Olympiad winners are:


  • 1st place - Ammon Gutke, Fall Creek Elementary, (sponsors Elen Alley and Jennifer King)
  • 2nd place - Lucas Pagano, Woodland Hills Elementary; (sponsors Erin Monk and Samantha Morgenroth)
  • 3rd place - AJ Jozwiak, Pine Forest Elementary (sponsor Cheryl Alvina)

ELEMENTARY TEAM (students listed in alphabetical order)

  • 1st place – Shadow Forest Elementary – Alex Ebersbaker, Darren Han, James Ward, Aiden Watson, Nathan Young and sponsor Rydonna Anthony
  • 2nd place – Willow Creek Elementary – Bryce Baker, Justin Burrowes, David Carruth, James Knigin, megan O’rian and sponsor Alicia Pearce
  • 3rd place – Park Lakes Elementary – Eric Elias, Daniel Fremont, Ciera Hall, Guarav Pupta, Jhonatan Santiseban and sponsor Hannah Morgan


  • 1st place – Daniel Alexander, Creekwood Middle School (sponsor Bonnie Terrell)
  • 2nd place – Tyler Stansel, Timberwood Middle school (sponsors Stacy Turner and Megan Carranza)
  • 3rd place (TIE) Farhan Ahsan, Creekwood Middle School (sponsor Bonnie Terrell)
  • 3rd place (TIE) Kimberley Bae, Timberwood Middle School (sponsors Stacy Turner and Megan Carranza)

MIDDLE SCHOOL TEAM (students listed in alphabetical order)

  • 1st place – Creekwood Middle School – Farhan Ahsan, Daniel Alexander, Uche Amadi, Rebecca Rhodes, Austin Taylor (sponsor Bonnie Terrell)
  • 2nd place – Timberwood Middle School – Kimberly Bae, Sarah Harisis, Tyler Stansel, Slava Tchoubko, Lance Vogel (sponsors Meghan Carranza and Stacy Turner)
  • 3rd place – Riverwood Middle School – Michael Liu, Nathaniel Liu, Tommy Neuman, Mary Claire Theut, Christian Wilson (sponsor Mary Daresh)