Trustee Nancy Morrison has earned Master Trustee designation



Pictured at the October 10, 2017 board meeting are (from left): Angela Conrad, Board President; Nancy Morrison, Board Secretary; and Dr. Elizabeth Fagen, Humble ISD Superintendent.


Humble ISD trustee Nancy Morrison has earned the designation of Master Trustee upon completion of Leadership TASB, a program sponsored by the Texas Association of School Boards (TASB). Leadership TASB is a highly selective program that accepts only 25% of applicants.


Morrison is a former teacher, assistant principal, and principal who served Humble ISD families in Humble, Kingwood, Atascocita, Lakeshore and Summerwood. Before retiring in 2014, Morrison enjoyed the opportunity to open Lakeshore Elementary as the school's founding principal. She was able to create a campus culture while building successful relationships within the surrounding community. Morrison was elected to the Humble ISD School Board in 2015 and is the chairman of the Board’s Legislative Committee. Her knowledge is honed to the academic, technological, and social skills that students from Pre-K to grade 12 need to become the wage earners, caregivers, and leaders of our future.


The 2017 Leadership TASB class, composed of 34 school board members, represents Texas school districts of all sizes and property wealth. During the fifth session, June 22-24, school board members in 2017 Leadership TASB class made presentations of their team’s findings following year-long research. Class participants selected topics related to public school boards facing change and selected narrowed research fields for in-depth study. Their research focused on topics that included strategies to deal with employee retention, understanding statewide accountability, successful early childhood education programs, focused community engagement, the role of the school board regarding advocacy, and statistical identification of real achievement gaps. After the June 23 graduation ceremony, participants joined the ranks of more than 800 school board members statewide who are Leadership TASB alumni.