Humble ISD recognizes National AP scholars at August 8 Board Meeting


The department of Advanced Academics highlighted the performance of Humble ISD students on the 2017 Advanced Placement Exams. A student's score on a given AP exam measures their achievement in a college-level course. The score can be used by colleges and universities to determine if college credit is granted for what a student has already learned and allow the student to skip the equivalent course in college.


In May 2017, a total of 5,086 AP exams were taken by 2,927 students - an increase of 12% over 2016.


More than half of the students received a score of 3 or higher, earning a minimum of 8,781 potential college credits.


Students who do well on multiple AP exams can receive one of four College Board's AP Scholar designations.  More than 600 Humble ISD students received one of these designations. 26 of these students attained the highest level of achievement and were named National AP Scholars.


National AP Scholars averaged a score of at least 4.00 on all exams, and scoried 4 or higher on eight or more exams.


The Advanced Academics department commemorated the exceptional academic accomplishment of Humble ISD students by presenting the District with a banner bearing the names of all 26 National AP Scholars.


The 2017 Humble ISD National Advanced Placement Scholars are listed below:


Atascocita High School

Rachel Archer, Logan Brabson, Sean Corley and Brendan Winn

Kingwood Park High School

Gabriel Zolton

Kingwood High School

Ali Arif, Alexandra Bishop, Ryhan Calcote, Matthew Cavnar-Johnson, Samuel Cavnar-Johnson, Stephen Chamness, William Easterby, Rya Elo, Caleb Ford, Gaurav Gawankar, Charles Gonzalez-Dyer, Joshua Graves, Corbin Hartung, Fernanda Lago Arroyo, Madeline Meier, Emily Mitchell, Ronan Padhye, Samuel Scheufler, Bora Unalmis, Andrew Wambaugh, and Riley Wilson


Advanced Placement scholars-web.jpg




The exceptional academic accomplishment of Humble ISD students was commemorated with a banner bearing the names of all 26 National AP Scholars. Accepting the banner is AHS AP Scholar Rachel Archer, Superintendent Dr. Elizabeth Fagen and Board President Angela Conrad.