Return to Headlines

Appreciation for our School Board

At the regularly scheduled School Board Meeting on January 12, Humble ISD Superintendent Dr. Guy Sconzo introduced a student-produced video of students across the district singing "Thank You For Being A Friend." The film was produced in Advanced Audio Visual Production at Kingwood High School taught by Coach Rusty Odom and Anisha Virani. Student filmmakers include Danielle George, Adrian Fisk, and Kaleb May.

"It’s impossible to fully convey the extent of dedication that School Board service requires. School Board Trustees are volunteers. They receive no pay. They give literally hundreds of hours -- reading reports, attending meetings, going to school events, and considering complex issues. Our School Board does all this because they care about the current and future lives of children," said Dr. Sconzo.

Board members received a commemorative book featuring photos of Trustees at different events, as well as notes and artwork submitted by students from Eagle Springs, Lakeshore, Deerwood and Woodland Hills elementary schools, and from Humble and Kingwood middle schools.
Fifth graders from Lakeland Elementary drew a portrait of each School Board Member. Under the direction of art teacher Amanda Lasiter, the students studied Picasso. They studied different styles of eyes, noses, mouths and ears and his way of simply drawing a face. The students did realistic drawings first, then practiced drawing a Picasso face and ended with their finished watercolor portraits. Student artists included Isabella Delgadillo--BoardPresident Robert Sitton, John Paul Hernandez--Vice President Keith Lapeze, Israel Ortega--Secretary Angela Conrad, Isaiah Garcia--Parliamentarian Mr. Heath Rushing, Dayanara Salazar--Trustee Charles Cunningham, Jimena Jimenez--Trustee Brent Engelage, and Fabrisio Riviera--Trustee Nancy Morrison.

High school student leaders from across the district acknowledged all that the School Board does in service to students. A student representative from each school introduced themselves and made a presentation. Speakers included Jaylene Cardenas (AHS), Guadalupe Hernandez (HHS), Bronwynn McGill (KHS), Lauryn Galloway (KPHS), and Jenna Folk (SCHS).
Association of Texas Professional Educators officers expressed appreciation for the School Board on behalf of all ATPE members in Humble ISD. Those presenting included Elementary Membership Coordinator Ericka Mitcham, Treasurer Bob McAndrews, President Stephanie Baker, and Past President Stacey Ward.
FFA student officers from across the district talked about FFA and what participation in FFA provides for students, and presented student-created gifts to each board member. Presenters included Megan Storms (KHS),  Lauryn Galloway (KPHS), Alex Bigger (SCHS), Michael Lacourt (AHS), and Ernest Broomfield (HHS).

Presentations were made from the Office of County Commissioner Precinct 4 Jack Cagle and from the Office of Harris County Tax Assessor-Collector Mike Sullivan.