Return to Headlines

Super Staffers honored at Dec. 9 Board Meeting

Pictured from left are, Superintendent Dr. Guy Sconzo, Humble ISD Education Foundation Board Member Brent Colescott, Transportation Supervisor Cynthia Black, Humble Elementary Teacher Peggy Mensik, Sterling Middle School Counselor Roxanna Johnson, and School Board President Robert Scarfo.
Humble ISD’s Super Staffers of the Month were recognized at the regularly scheduled Board Meeting on December 9. Honored at the Board Meeting were the following Super Staffers:

Peggy Mensik — Humble Elementary Science Teacher
Those who nominated her said, "She has a great heart for our school and everyone in it. She gives up her precious time to "chalking" special statements on our sidewalk to remind us all about respect."

Roxanna Johnson — Ross Sterling Middle School Counselor
Those who nominated her said, “She is an excellent counselor who puts students first. She works well with teachers to help them with whatever they need. She is a great leader to her team of counselors, offering support whenever needed and providing staff developments to keep everyone updated on policies and procedures. You will always find her smiling and willing to listen. Her kindness is contagious and lights up a room.”

Cynthia Black — Transportation Supervisor
Those who nominated her said, “Cindy goes above and beyond her duties every day. Cindy has been with the Humble ISD Transportation Department for 26 years, and makes the effective, efficient, and safe transportation of the district's students her number one priority. She starts work at 5:30 AM and is often still in her office at 5:30 PM. Cindy takes pride in her work and it shows.”

Each month, campuses and departments select an individual to be honored as a Super Staffer for their outstanding work in advancing student achievement. A drawing is held and three honorees receive additional recognition at the School Board Meeting, including a $200 gift card to Pappas Restaurants thanks to an award sponsor. The sponsor for the Super Staffer Awards this month is the Humble ISD Education Foundation.

Elementary Super Staffers:
Atascocita Springs Elementary, Amy Hudson, First Grade Teacher
Bear Branch Elementary, Andrea Maple, Kindergarten Teacher
Deerwood Elementary, Retta Bleiberg, Math Academic Lead Teacher
Elm Grove Elementary, Sandy Carley, Kindergarten Teacher
Foster Elementary, Connie Taylor, Speech Therapist
Greentree Elementary, Jessica Park, Para Regular Ed
Hidden Hollow Elementary, Heather Barr, Instructional Para
Humble Elementary, Peggy Mensik, Science Teacher
Jack Fields Elementary, Kelly Atkins, Academic Science Coach
Lakeland Elementary, Gail Garcia Martinez, 2nd grade teacher
Lakeshore Elementary, Andrea Barela, Second Grade Teacher
Maplebrook Elementary, Lisa Tilton, Kindergarten Teacher
North Belt Elementary, Judi Elliott, Science Lab Teacher
Oak Forest Elementary, Becky Beverly, Principal Secretary
Oaks Elementary, Jeanette Kelley, 2nd grade teacher
Ridge Creek Elementary, Pat Andrus, 5th Grade Teacher
River Pines Elementary, Barbara Barbato, Teacher 2nd Grade
Shadow Forest Elementary, Terrye Tyer, special education teacher
Summerwood Elementary, Susan Ellington, 3rd grade teacher
Timbers Elementary, Stacey Ward, Teacher
Willow Creek Elementary, Kelly Sims, ELT
Woodland Hills Elementary, Jenny Heyl, Music Teacher
Whispering Pines Elementary, Kurtis Kruase, 5th Grade Teacher

Secondary Super Staffers:
Atascocita High School, Tommy Stokes, Special Education ALT
Atascocita Middle School, Nancy Gold, Science Teacher
Community Learning Center, Lori Moore, Secondary Teacher
Humble High School, Jimisu Wolff, CSTA
Kingwood Park High School, Tiffany May, Para
Kingwood Middle School, Travis Ferrell, Avid Teacher/Coach
Quest ECHS, Tina Davenport, Attendance clerk
Ross Sterling Middle, Roxanne Johnson, Counselor
Timberwood Middle School, Sue White, Librarian
Woodcreek Middle School, Brenda Rider, RELA ALT

Support Super Staffers
Child Nutrition Center, Henry Parrish, Maintenance Supervisor
ISC, David Hays, Assistant Director of ESS
Transportation, Cynthia Black, Transportation Supervisor

A new group of honorees will be recognized next month and their names will be entered into the drawing. The three Super Staffers whose names are drawn will be honored at the next School Board Meeting.