Return to Headlines

Congratulations to the 2017 National Merit Scholars



Pictured above are the National Merit Scholarship Finalists at the April 11 Board Meeting with Superintendent Dr. Elizabeth Fagen, Director of Advanced Academics Dr. Charles Ned, and Trustee President Keith Lapeze. 


Humble ISD is proud to announce 45 high school students were recently recognized for their outstanding academic achievement by The National Merit Scholarship Program (NMSP).


Thirteen students from Humble ISD were named National Merit Finalists: Rachel Archer from Atascocita High School; Luke Barrett, Matthew Cavnar-Johnson, Samuel Cavnar-Johnson, Ryan Elo, Jackson Fuja, Gaurav Gawankar, Ronan Padhye, Andrew Wambaugh, and Riley Wilson from Kingwood High School; Hannah Hoffman, Gregory Mika, and Gabriel Zolton from Kingwood Park High School. These students rank in the top one percent of the nation’s high school seniors.


National Merit Commended Scholars included Logan Brabson and Sean Corley from Atascocita High School; Ali Arif, Emily Avard, Alexandra Bishop, Emily Bloomer, Ryan Calcote, Stephen Chamness, Lauren Edwards, Carla Godoy, Joshua Graves, Corbin Hartung, Kayleigh Hassel, Kristen Herink, Fernanda Lago Arroyo, Kris Li, Nicholas Mears, Madeline Meier, Sydney Metzinger, Chloe Meyer, Connor Smith, and Sanjay Unni from Kingwood High School; and Nathan Eigbe, Carter Floyd, Carlee Hebert, Ryan Logan, Michael Martinez, Benjamin Smith, Amanda Timmerman, and Helena Vassiliades from Kingwood Park High School.


Representing Humble ISD as National Hispanic Scholars are: Lance Abler, Gabriella Cerrato, Carla Godoy, Eric Guidry, Fernanda Lago Arroyo, and Jason Lopez from Kingwood High School as well as Michael Martinez from Kingwood Park High School. 


The National Merit Scholarship Program is an academic competition for recognition and scholarships. High school students enter the National Merit Program by taking the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT). Of the 1.5 million entrants, 50,000 with the highest Selection Index scores (critical reading, mathematics and writing skills) qualify for recognition in the National Merit Scholarship Program. Commended students represent approximately 34,000 students who receive letters of commendation. Finalists are comprised of 15,000 students. Winners are chosen from the Finalist group based on their abilities, skills and accomplishments.