• STAAR will include the following middle school assessments:

      • 6th grade Mathematics and Reading
      • 7th grade Mathematics and Reading
      • 8th grade Mathematics, Reading, Social Studies and Science
      • Students who are in Algebra I will be required to take the STAAR Algebra I EOC instead of the grade level STAAR mathematics assessment.
      Time Limits:

      TEA established a four (4) hour time limit for the STAAR grades 3-8 assessments. TEA notes that a four-hour time limit should provide sufficient time for the majority of students to complete the test. Extra time may be offered to students who meet specific eligibility criteria. 


      STAAR™ Performance Standards

      Students will score in one of the four categories below:

      • Masters Grade Level
      • Meets Grade Level
      • Approaches Grade Level
      • Does Not Meet Grade Level

      Click to view the TEA website STAAR Performance Standards