FAQ's

  • Why does Humble ISD need a police department?

    Posted by:
    • Just like all other ISDs in the Harris County area, our security needs have grown to the level that the primary law enforcement agencies for our district could not handle the volume of calls to service adequately without hiring additional personnel. Also, Humble ISD is located in five agencies' jurisdiction, so these agencies would be unable to answer calls in every part of the district. Our officers have jurisdiction for the entire 90+ square-mile area that makes up Humble ISD.
    Comments (-1)
  • Can Humble ISD officers do everything other police departments can do?

    Posted by:
    • Yes, our police officers are Texas peace officers according to the Texas Code of Criminal Procedure, just the same as any county, municipality or state peace officers.
    • Our jurisdiction is authorized by the Texas Education Code.  
    Comments (-1)
  • What makes district officers different from Sheriff's dept., municipal police, etc.

    Posted by:
    • Our district police officers make up a specialized law enforcement agency.
    • Our district encompasses Humble, Kingwood, Atascocita, Fall Creek, and Summerwood.
    • Our district police officers primary responsibility is to the school district, its students, its faculty and its property.
    • Our district police patrol 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, 365 days a year.
    • Our police department assigns officers to the high school and middle school campuses during the school year.
    Comments (-1)
  • Do our police officers write real tickets? What happens to the tickets they write?

    Posted by:
    • Yes, our officers do indeed write real tickets. Once issued, they go to either Pct. 4 or Pct. 3 Justice of the Peace court. If a ticketed individual fails to contact the court, a warrant for his/her arrest may be issued. 
    Comments (-1)
  • Can our officers arrest adults and/or juveniles?

    Posted by:
    • Yes, our officers have this authority, just like any other peace officer in the state of Texas. 
    Comments (-1)
  • Can our officers take action against a non-student if they are not on school district property?

    Posted by:
    • Yes, if an officer witnesses an offense, he will take action and let the agency who has primary jurisdiction in the area know what has occurred. 
    Comments (-1)
  • Do our officers have authority at school functions not held on district property?

    Posted by:
    • Yes, wherever Humble ISD functions are held, our officers have authority on the property. 
    Comments (-1)
  • If other police departments need assistance, can our officers respond?

    Posted by:
    • Yes, just as other law enforcement may respond to our officers' assistance, they may also respond to calls for assistance from other police agencies.
    Comments (-1)
  • How can I find out how much a citation will cost?

    Posted by:
    • Call the Precinct 4 Place 2 Justice of the Peace Court at 281-446-7191 or
    • Call the Precinct 3 Place 1 Justice of the Peace Court at 713-450-2409  
    Comments (-1)
  • Is there a curfew? 

    Posted by:
    • Within the City of Humble, persons age 16 and younger are prohibited from public places without adult supervision between:
    • 11:00 P.M. on any Sunday, Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday until 6 A.M. of the following day.
    • 12:01 A.M. until 6:00 A.M. on any Saturday or Sunday; and
    • 9:00 A.M. until 2:30 P.M. on any Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, or Friday when school is in session
    • Within the City of Houston:
      It shall be unlawful for any minor to knowingly remain, walk, run, stand, drive, or ride about, in or upon any public place within the city between the following hours:
    • 12:00(midnight) and 6:00 A.M. on any day of the week
    • 9:00 A.M. and 2:30 P.M. on a Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, or Friday
      It shall be unlawful for the parent or guardian having legal custody of a minor to knowingly allow or permit the minor to be in violation of the curfew imposed.
    Comments (-1)
  • Can the police ask me to leave a school parking lot because I am riding my skateboard?

    Posted by:
    • The police may ask you to leave a school parking lot if there are signs posted attesting to the fact. 
    Comments (-1)
  • How long after my driver’s license expires do I have before police can ticket me?

    Posted by:
    • You can be ticketed for expired license the day after your license expires. 
    Comments (-1)
  • What is the law on passing an emergency vehicle stopped on the side of the road?

    Posted by:
    • The new law states that when approaching ANY emergency vehicle (Police, Fire, EMS etc.) you must vacate the lane closest to the emergency vehicle; ie change lanes if you are on a multi-lane roadway. If you only have one lane then you must slow to a speed not more than 20 MPH below the posted speed limit. 
    Comments (-1)
  • Can I lose my driver’s license if I am caught with tobacco by police and I am under 18?

    Posted by:
    • Your license can get suspended by a judge if you do not attend the mandatory tobacco awareness class after being convicted of possession of a tobacco product. 
    Comments (-1)
  • Can I pass a school bus, unloading children, on a road with a median?

    Posted by:
    • You cannot pass a school bus when unloading or loading children. The only exception is if the roadway is divided, separating the road into two separate roads. The separation may be made by a concrete barrier, or grassy median, not by lines painted on the road.   
    Comments (-1)
  • How can I get a copy of my criminal record?

    Posted by:

     

    Comments (-1)
  • Can I cut through the parking lot when traffic is heavy?

    Posted by:
    • No, it is against the law to cut through any parking lot to turn onto one highway from another highway. 
    Comments (-1)
  • Is it legal to drive in the median to make a turn into a parking lot?

    Posted by:
    • No, it is against the law to drive in, or across any median or area designated by crossed lines or hash marks to dive two roadways. It is not legal to drive in the median at any time. 
    Comments (-1)
  • How long does my turn signal have to be on to make a turn?

    Posted by:
    • You are required to activate your turn signal at least 100 feet before you make you turn or change lanes. 
    Comments (-1)
  •  Can I be arrested for a traffic violation?

    Posted by:
    • Yes, anyone can be arrested for any traffic violation except for speeding and having an open container of alcohol in a vehicle. It is at the officer's discretion on how to handle each situation.
    Comments (-1)