• Middle School Testing

    Middle School Students Will Participate In The Following Assessments Under STAAR:

    Grade 6  Reading and Math

    Grade 7 Reading, Math, and Writing

    Grade 8 Reading, Math*, Science, and Social Studies

    Grade 8 Algebra I EOC* (Students not scoring at Level II will retake the Algebra I EOC in high school until they reach Level II - it does not impact their credit for the course.)

    Student Performance:

    Once students have taken a STAAR assessment they will receive a score indicating their performance. Student performance will fall in to one of the three categories below.

    • Level III: Advanced Academic Performance
    • Level II: Satisfactory Academic Performance
    • Level I: Unsatisfactory Academic Performance

    Time Limits:

    TEA established a four (4) hour time limit for both STAAR grades 3-8 assessments and STAAR EOC assessments. TEA notes that a four hour time limit should provide sufficient time for the majority of students to complete the test. The rationale for time limits aligns Texas testing practices with other timed state and national assessments, i.e. SAT, ACT and AP examinations. Extended time accommodations for students with unique learning needs will continue to be offered.

    Impact on Grade Advancement: 


    SSI retest opportunities will continue to be available in 2017 for STAAR grade 8 Math & Reading. 

    Top of Form

    Bottom of Form

    Parent Guide to the Student Success Initiative at Grades 5 & 8

    http://www.tea.state.tx.us/student.assessment/ssi/  = Link to Student Success Initiative brochures in English and Spanish
    For more testing resources and information go to the CMS test coordinator's site at https://www.humbleisd.net/domain/2060