The Great 8: Skills for Daily Life
  • The Great 8: Skills for Daily Life


    Humble ISD's Guidance Curriculum provides all students with the knowledge and skills appropriate for their developmental level through in class and/or small group lessons. In order to promote and enhance the learning program and in accordance with Texas and national standards, the guidance curriculum addresses the areas of personal/social, academic, and career development.

    Humble ISD counselors teach The Great 8: Skills for Daily Life using the Why Try program as the foundation of the guidance curriculum. Here is what your child will be learning during guidance lessons this school year:


    2020-2021 School Year

    1st grading period

    Decision Making:  A person’s approach to problem-solving, learning from experience, using values to guide behavior and accepting responsibility.

    2nd grading period

    Personal Responsibility:  A person’s tendency to be careful and reliable in his/her actions and to contribute to group efforts.

    3rd grading period

    Self-Awareness:  A person’s realistic understanding of his/her strengths and limitations and consistent desire for self-improvement.

    4th grading period

    Social Awareness:  A person’s capacity to interact with others in ways that show respect, tolerance, and cooperation.