Great 8
  • The Guidance Curriculum in Humble ISD provides all students with the knowledge and skills appropriate for their developmental level through systematic delivery of the guidance curriculum in classrooms and/or small groups. In order to promote and enhance the learning program and in accordance with Texas and national standards, the guidance curriculum addresses the areas of personal/social, academic, and career development.

    Humble ISD counselors teach The Great 8: Skills for Daily Life. From the information and knowledge acquired through the awareness phase, students develop the skills to identify the responsibilities and behaviors appropriate to functioning effectively in each of the environments.

    Here is what your child will be learning during guidance lessons this school year:

    2020-2021 School Year

    1st grading period

    Decision Making: A child’s approach to problem solving that involves learning from others and from their own previous experiences, using their values to guide their action, and accepting responsibility for their decisions.

    2nd grading period

    Personal Responsibility:  A child's tendency to be careful and reliable in her/his actions and in contributing to group efforts.

    3rd grading period

    Self-Awareness: A child's realistic understanding of her/his strengths and limitations and consistent desire for self-improvement.

    4th grading period

    Social Awareness:  A child's capacity to interact with others in a way that shows respect for their ideas and behaviors, recognizes her/his impact on them, and uses cooperation and tolerance in social situations.


Dessa at home
  • Great 8 Skills at Home


    For more information on Social and Emotional Learning at Home, visit the Parent Portal.